Aug 15 2010 - Krushansky Ends Dry Spell; Jackson, Meglaye, Bendishaw & Burkholder Win

Story Content Provided by Dave Kittey August 14, 2010

MARKLEYSBURG, PA (August 14) - Louie Krushansky ended a dry spell at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex that dated back to May 2009 by winning the Melvinfs Automatic Transmission Center Modified feature. Keith Jackson (Jack's Recycling Super Late Models), Ricky Meglaye (Brooks Automotive Group FASTRAK Late Models) and Jim Bendishaw, Jr. (Bobby Lake Motorsports Street Stocks) all won their fourth of the year while Kenny Burkholder picked up his fifth win in the TC Race Car Parts Chargers.

Justin Howell was looking for his first career win in the TC Race Car Parts Charger feature. Howell took the lead at the start before Kenny Burkholder got by with a pass in turn two on lap four. Burkholder then had to fend off Howell, who stayed glued to his bumper, for his second straight feature win. Howell drove home second over Shawn Smith, Brad Jenkins and Marty Spade, Jr., who came from the tail after being involved in a spin on lap four. CJ Nicola, Jim Crossland, Jason Gibbs, Bennie Dennis and Bus Matthews filled out the top ten. Kyle Burkholder and Spade were heat winners.

Scott Spade was another driver looking to get his first win in a while in the 15-lap Bobby Lake Motorsports Street Stock feature. Spade looked strong leading the first ten laps before point leader Jimmy Bendishaw, Jr. took over on lap 11. Spade then tried to regain the lead but could not. Bendishaw took his fourth win of the season over Spade, Joe Wrona, Bob Nelson, Ryan Newman, Todd Dennis, Jim Byers, Scott Herring, Charlie McClain and Marshall Coleman. Grabbing heat wins were Spade and Dennis.

The Jack's Recycling Super Late Models put on a passing show for the fans. Mel Minnick Jr. started on the pole and was able to lead the first 13 laps. Mel looked strong until ninth starting Keith Jackson, of Odenton, MD, took advantage of a restart to take the lead from Minnick.

Jackson started to pull away from the pack as Chuck Harper took second on lap 18 and started to close in on Jackson. Harper ran out of time as Jackson won his fourth of the year. Harper, Doug Horton (from 7^th ), Ron Delano, Jr. (from 8^th ), Minnick, Billy Holbert, Butch McGill, Richard Frazier, Bob Hershman and Mike Steck completed the top ten.  Horton and Jackson were the heat winners.

In the 20-lap Brooks Automotive Group FASTRAK Late Model feature, Troy Shields took the initial lead. Shields, the 2009 track champion, has been winless for a couple of seasons. Shields had Rick Strickler and Ricky Meglaye drafting him each lap. Shields drifted high coming out of turn four on lap 11 and that was all Meglaye needed to take the lead. Meglaye then sailed off for his fourth win and first since May 29.

Strickler settled for second over Cody Hardesty (from 12^th ), Shields, Bobby Cossell, Dusty Hamrick, John Over, Jim Bryce, Billy Stile III and Jeremy Zufall. Over and Strickler won the preliminaries.

Brothers Nick and Josh Cramer started on the front row of the 15-lap Melvin's Automatic Transmission Center Modified feature. Josh took the lead after battling side-by-side with his brother. Josh drifted high on lap three giving Nick the lead. Nick's lead was short lived as he broke while leading on laps six. This handed the lead over to Louie Krushansky. Krushansky raced off to his first win at Roaring Knob this season. Vic Vandergrift came from seventh to finish second over Deana Groves, Nathan Baker, Nick Cramer, Jeff Montgomery, Bruce Dreistadt, Todd Daughenbaugh, Bobby Bennett and Nick Cramer. Prelims went to Krushansky and Bennett.

The final event of the night was a Powder Puff for the Street Stocks and Chargers. Pulling into victory lane was Bobbie Yauger in her dad Bob Miller's Street Stock while his daughter-in-law Mindy Miller won the Chargers in Jim Crossland's #64. Both cars are Mopar power.

August 21 - THREE STATE FLYERS SUPER LM DWANE SHULTZ MEMORIAL $3,000 to win and Roaring Knob vs. Elkins Shootout #3 sponsored by Tri-City Electric of Fairmont, WV for Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, and Modifieds plus Charger Twin 10's plus Street Stocks.

August 22 (Sunday) - Test & Tune Day/Open Practice

August 28 - Roaring Knob vs. Bedford Shootout #3 sponsored by Krause Electric of Somerset, PA for Super Late Models plus FASTRAK Late Models, Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Chargers.

Jack's Recycling Super Late Models: Keith Jackson, Chuck Harper, Doug Horton, Ron Delano, Jr., Mel Minnick, Jr., Billy Holbert, Butch McGill, Richard Frazier, Bob Hershman, Mike Steck, Danny Pugh, LC Powers, Chad Forman, Mason Zeigler, Bob Gordon, Mike McFarland, DNS: Mark Booth, Robbie Scott

Brooks Automotive Group FASTRAK Late Models: Ricky Meglaye, Rick Strickler, Cody Hardesty, Troy Shields, obby Cossell, Dusty Hamrick, John Over, Jim Bryce, Billy Stile III, Jeremy Zufall, Garry Sisson, Derek Rogers, Scott Beitzel, Russell Baird, Jr., Andy Spooner, Ray Johnson, Jayme Beck, Mike Lewis, Mylo Markovich

Melvin's Automatic Transmission Center Modifieds: Lou Krushansky, Vic Vandergrift, Deana Groves, Nathan Baker, Josh Cramer, Jeff Montgomery, Bruce Dreistadt, Todd Daughenbaugh, Bobby Bennett, Nick Cramer

Bobby Lake Motorsports Street Stocks: Jim Bendishaw, Jr., Scott Spade, Joe Wrona, Bob Nelson, Ryan Newman, Todd Dennis, Jim Byers, Scott Herring, Charlie McClain, Marshall Coleman, Bob Miller, Barry Faris, Lee Mansberry, Mike Duritsky

TC Race Car Parts Chargers: Kenny Burkholder, Justin Howell, Shawn Smith, Brad Jenkins, Marty Spade, Jr., CJ Nicola, Jim Crossland, Jason Gibbs, Bennie Dennis, Bus Matthews, Eric Miller, Donnie Walters, Justin Rodeheaver, Mark Peck, Kyle Burkholder, Bradley Nesline, DNS: JT Baird, Andy Vogel



  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)