Sep 10 2012 - Jamie Lathroum is 2012 King of the Knob

Jamie Lathroum Wins Second Three State Flyers Sanctioned “King of the Knob” In See Saw Battle; Pegher Tops FASTRAK & Joe Kelley Returns to Victory Lane in Street Stocks.


                MARKLEYSBURG, PA (September 9, 2012) Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex had to use it’s Sunday rain date for the 15th running of the King of the Knob.  After a 1 hour rain delay, Mechanicsville, MD’s Jamie Lathroum came out on top of a see saw battle with Jason Covert to win this race for second time. His other win came in 2010. Mike Pegher, Jr. went unchallenged in winning the High Gear Speed Shop FASTRAK Late Model feature while Mt. Pleasant’s Joe Kelley returned to the winner’s circle for the first time in six years in the Krause Electric Street Stocks.

                Feature racing started off with the 20-lap High Gear Speed Shop FASTRAK Late Models. Pegher, of Cranberry Township, led from flag to flag to capture his second win of the year at the Knob. Nico Dabecco kept the high flying Pegher in his sights but could not muster a challenge in settling for his best track finish for second. Ken Herman was third followed by Russell Baird, Jr., John Over, Nolan Dalton, Mike Lewis, Louie Krushansky, WL Stile and Michael Lake. Dabecco and Pegher won the heats.

                 Jamie Lathroum performed the trifecta by setting fast time, winning his heat and then capturing the 15th running of the “King of the Knob” over a steller 46 car field. At the drop of the green it was Charleston, WV’s Zach Dohm taking the lead. Dohm looked fast as he opened up a slight lead. Dohm held the lead for the first sixteen laps while eighth starting Lathroum worked his way to the front taking the lead on lap 17. Five cautions would slow the event including one on lap 21 for a slowing Jared Miley.  On the restart Dohm once again took the lead back with Lathroum on his tail closely followed by Gregg Satterlee and tenth starting Jared Hawkins. Scott Rhodes make it a five car blanket.  Lathroum wasted little time and took the lead back on lap 23 and started to pull away. 

Lapped traffic closed the field back up.  Side by side racing allowed Jason Covert to reel the five in and become a factor. Covert moved into the top five on lap 30. For over ten laps Covert and Dohm went door to door before Covert grabbed second on lap 43. One lap later Covert took over the top spot for three laps. Then as Lathroum led laps 46 and 47,  lap 48 found Covert back out front and then the final caution of the day flew for third and fourth running Gregg Satterlee and Jared Hawkins.  The pair got together entering turn three with both spinning and out of contention.

The green flew for the final time with seven laps remaining.  Covert took off on the start and Lathroum chased him.  Heading in to turn three Lathroum shot low and went for the slide job in turn four.  As he came up in front of Covert they hit with Lathroum back out in front. Covert recovered and hauled the #6 back in staying glued to his back bumper. Lap 54 saw Covert looking to set up an outside pass coming out off turn four. The final lap saw the pair running nose to tail and Dohm right there in third ready to pounce.  Covert appeared to be pushing Lathroum across the line with his steering breaking as the checker flew. Lathroum pulled off his second win in the “King of the Knob” earning $5000 for his efforts. Covert was second over Dohm, Tim Senic, Corey Conley, Mason Zeigler (from 21st), Scott Rhodes, Ron Delano, Jr., Devin Friese and Jerry Bard.  Scoring the heat wins were Lathroum, Satterlee, Covert and Senic.  Shane Hitt and Tyler Hershey won the two B-Mains.

Joe Kelley won his last Krause Electric Street Stock feature at Roaring Knob in 2006. Sunday found Kelley, making just his second start of the year at the Markleysburg oval, a winning one.  Kelley drove the Charlie Trice owned #100 to victory taking the lead from Shawn Davis on lap eleven.  Kelley led the final four laps for just his second career win of the year. Once out front Kelley was unchallenged for the win over Jim Sayler, Brian Duffy, Davis, Bob Nelson, Jim Bendishaw, Jr., Marty Spade, Jr., Jeremy Swank, Bill Pluta, Jr. and Jason Gibbs. Winning the three heats were Kelley, Davis and Mike Duritsky.

Roaring Knob will take the next two weeks off before returning to racing action September 27-29 with the Big Kahuna for the Three State Flyers Series for Super Late Models.  The Big Kahuna was started at the Rock Speedway in Cumberland, MD and has been moved to Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex for 2012.  The event will pay the winner $7000. The High Gear Speed Shop FASTRAK Late Models, Ft. Necessity Garage Chargers, Krause Electric Street Stocks and Newt’s York Bar Roadrunners will all be in action that weekend. 

Friday night will see qualifying for the Super Lates and FASTRAK Late Models with a complete show for the Chargers.  Saturday is the B-Mains and feature events for Super Lates and FASTRAK and full program for Street Stocks and Roadrunners.For more details in the coming days, visit our website at



“King of the Knob” for Super Late Models (46): Jamie Lathroum, Jason Covert, Zach Dohm, Tim Senic, Corey Conley, Mason Zeigler, Scott Rhodes, Ron Delano, Jr., Devin Friese, Jerry Bard, Keith Jackson, Mike Benedum, John Garvin, Scott LeBarron, Tom Decker, Jr., Jared Hawkins, Gregg Satterlee, Sam Stile, Shane Hitt, Jared Miley, Butch McGill, Doug Horton, Billy Holbert, Tyler Hershey.

DNQ: Richard Frazier, Tracey Cooper, Danny Mitchell, Gary Gellner, Bob Hershman, Mark Booth, Ken Schaltenbrand, Bob Gordon, Rodney Phillips, John Myers, Alan Sagi, Danny Pugh, Cody Hardesty, Matt Cosner, Joe Kcelich, Quintin Wyandt, Chad McClellan, Joe Zulisky, Freddie Carpenter, Kyle Hardy, Doug Eck, Tom Decker III.


Heat 1: Jamie Lathroum, Corey Conley, Jared Miley, Devin Friese, Butch McGill, Tom Decker, Jr., Kyle Hardy, Richard Frazier, John Myers, Chad McClellan, Billy Holbert, DNS: Bob Gordon

Heat 2: Gregg Satterlee, Zach Dohm, Jared Hawkins, Doug Horton, Shane Hitt, Mason Zeigler, Danny Mitchell, Cody Hardesty, Alan Sagi, Bob Hershman, Matt Cosner, DNS: Danny Pugh.

Heat 3: Jason Covert, Jerry Bard, John Garvin, Scott LeBarron, Tyler Hershey, Gary Gellner, Doug Eck, Quintin Wyandt, Joe Kcelish, Mark Booth, Tracey Cooper.

Heat 4:  Tim Senic, Scott Rhodes, Sam Stile, Ron Delano, Jr., Mike Benedum, Keith Jackson, Ken Schaltenbrand, Rodney Phillips, Tom Decker, Jr., Joe Zulisky.

B-Main #1: Shane Hitt, Butch McGill, Mason Zeigler, Billy Holbert, Danny Mitchell, Danny Pugh, Matt Cosner, Kyle Hardy, Alan Sagi, Richard Frazier, Cody Hardesty, Bob Hershman, DNS: John Myers, Chad McClellan.

B-Main #2:  Tyler Hershey, Mike Benedum, Keith Jackson, Gary Gellner, Doug Eck, Rodney Phillips, Joe Kcelich, Ken Schaltenbrand, Quintin Wyandt, Mark Booth,  DNS: Danny Pugh, Joe Zulisky, Tracey Cooper


High Gear Speed Shop FASTRAK Late Models (20): Mike Pegher, Jr., Nico Dabecco, Ken Herman, Russell Baird, Jr., John Over, Nolan Dalton, Mike Lewis, Louie Krushansky, WL Stile, Michael Lake, Stanley Spooner, Vince Masi, Jr., Greg Tressler, John Cain, JT Baird, Jeff Compton, Troy Shields, Ben Policz, Lou Jacoby, Paul Jablonski.


Krause Electric Street Stocks (21): Joe Kelley, Jim Sayler, Brian Duffy, Davis, Bob Nelson, Jim Bendishaw, Jr., Marty Spade, Jr., Jeremy Swank, Bill Pluta, Jr., Jason Gibbs, Mike Duritsky, Jason Van Gilder, James Nelson, Barry Faris, Dennis Collins, Charlie McClain, Michael Duritsky, Jim Byers, Joe Pluta, Todd Dennis, DNS: John Redshaw.

  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)