Jun 04 2013 - Appalachian Mountain Speedweek Winner is Gregg Satterlee

The Appalachian Mountain Speedweek Late Model Series paid a visit to Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex, Monday, and it appeared as if Jamie “the Jet” Lathroum was en-route to his second-career Speedweek victory. In the waning laps, however, Gregg Satterlee had other ideas.

Lathroum led the first 35 laps of the 40-lap event, but a restart with six laps remaining set up a challenge from Satterlee. In turn four, Satterlee charged through the middle groove on the outside of Lathroum to grab the lead. Satterlee then moved out to a 10 car-length advantage at the checkers as the Rochester Mills, PA driver claimed his second-career Speeweek victory and the $5,000 winner’s share in his No. 22 machine.

“I saw he (Jamie) was running well in the lower groove,” said Satterlee in victory lane. “So I just moved down and it stuck,” he added. Lathroum, of Mechanicsville, MD, had led all prior laps, and he appeared to be on his way to victory. With the Delaware-style restart with six laps remaining, it appeared Lathroum was in the catbird’s seat, but he could not hold off a hard-charging Satterlee. “Yeah, I just started getting looser and looser,” a disappointed Lathroum said.

Lathroum began the race from the pole and quickly jumped out to an eight car-length lead. The battle for second was tightly contested between Greensburg, PA’s Davey Johnson, Satterlee and Elkins, WV’s Tim Senic as they battled for the runner-up spot. Caledonia, NY’s Vic Coffey, who won the Speedweek race at Potomac on Friday, was farther back in fifth.

On lap 12, Lathroum encountered lapped traffic, and this allowed Johsnon, Satterlee and Senic to close the gap. Then, on lap 16, Hyndman, PA’s D.J. Troutman spun in turn two to bring out the caution. In a Delaware restart, Lathroum used the clear track in front of him to distance himself, once gain. On lap 21, Satterlee ran second, Johnson was third and Senic raced fourth. A four-car breakaway ensued as the foursome distanced themselves from Coffey. A good battle for fifth ensued by lap 28 as Coffey was forced to contend with Jared Hawkins, Tyler Hershey and Kenny Pettyjohn, who was driving a back-up car after crashing his primary car in qualifying.

 The next few laps proved interesting as Satterlee drifted high in turn four on the 31st circuit, and this dropped him to third. Meanwhile, Senic’s car began to show smoke and the driver stopped his car on the backstretch on lap 34. Senic retired from the event, and this forced the final restart of the evening. As the green flag fell, Satterlee lit the fuse and he propelled by Lathroum in turn four in the event’s 37th lap. Satterlee then escaped from the competition to win by 10 car lengths at the finish. Lathroum finished second followed by Johnson in third. Coffey crossed the stripe in fourth and Fairmont, WV’s Hawkins rounded out the top five after starting 10th. Mercersburg, PA’s Tyler Hershey finished sixth. Millsboro, DE’s Pettyjohn moved from his 13th-starting position to claim seventh.

Almost as impressive as Satterlee’s victory was the plight of “Big Brother” Dan Stone. The Thompson, PA driver set fast time in qualifying with a 16.468 seconds lap and won his respective heat race. Motor problems forced Stone to start the A-Main from the rear in a back-up car. Stone motored his way through the field to finish eighth and claim the hard charger award.  South Park, PA’s Keith Barbara finished ninth and Lewistown, PA’s Nick Dickson completed the top 10.

Stone, Satterlee, Senic and Lathroum won the night’s heat races. The two B-Main winners were York, PA’s Rick Eckert and Cross Lanes, WV’s Zack Dohm.

In the night’s first feature, Stoystown, PA’s Chad McClellan held off Greensburg, PA’s Dan Angelicchio in a photo-finish to win $1,000 in the RUSH-sanctioned Crate Late Model event.

Morgantown, WV’s Nolan Dalton, who won two days prior on Saturday, led the first four laps of the 25-lap event. Fairmont, WV’s Ryan Montgomery took over the top spot on the fifth lap, but Dalton reassumed the lead one lap later. Dalton held the lead until sixth-starting McClellan moved by on the top side to grab the lead on lap 11.

Meanwhile, Angelicchio, who began fifth, mounted a challenge for the top spot, also. McClellan and Angelicchio battled side-by-side for several laps. McClellan ran the top side while Angelicchio worked on the bottom. It was a drag race off turn four between the two on the final lap as McClellan eclipsed Angelicchio by a half-car length to grab his third victory of the season.  Angelicchio settled for second while Saltsburg, PA’s Andrew Wylie finished third. Montgomery finished fourth and Connellsville, PA’s Ken Herman claimed fifth.

Wylie and Uniontown, PA’s John Over claimed the heat races.

Racing returns to Roaring Knob, Saturday, as Centennial Chevrolet presents Autograph and Picture night for the speedway’s drivers. The Charger division will compete in the Bus Matthews Memorial race that will award $400 to the winner. Also in action will be the Super Late Models, RUSH Crate Late Models, E-Mods, Street Stocks and Roadrunners. Pit gates will open at 4:30 p.m. and grandstand gates will open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled to begin at 6:45 p.m.

Appalachian Mountain Speedweek Late Models: 1. Gregg Satterlee, 2. Jamie Lathroum, 3. Davey Johnson, 4. Vic Coffey, 5. Jared Hawkins, 6. Tyler Hershey, 7. Kenny Pettyjohn, 8. Dan Stone, 9. Keith Barbara, 10. Nick Dickson, 11. Devin Friese, 12. Jason Covert, 13. J.T. Spence, 14. Rick Eckert, 15. D.J. Myers, 16. Matt Cosner, 17. Cody Hardesty, 18. Scott Rhodes, 19. Mason Ziegler, 20. Billy Holbert, 21. Tim Senic, 22. Mike Benedum, 23. D.J. Troutman, 24. Zack Dohm, 25. Pancho Lawler DNQ: Bob Gordon, Tim Wilson, Ryan Christoff, Johnny Garvin, Mike Altobelli, Quintin Wyandt, John Mollick, Mike Lupfer, Austin Hubbard, Ron Delano, Chuck Harper, Jeremy Miller, Danny Snyder, Kerry King, Jr., Doug Glessner, Kenny Moreland, Dale Hollidge

High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Crate Late Models: 1. Chad McClellan, 2. Dan Angelicchio, 3. Andrew Wylie, 4. Ryan Montgomery, 5. Ken Herman, 6. Nolan Dalton, 7. John Imler, 8. Garrett Shepherd, 9. John Over, 10. Nico Dabecco, 11., Jennae Piper 12 Troy Shields., 13. Russell Baird, Jr 14. Travis Wilson, `15. Michael Lake, 16. Jeff Ferguson, 17. Andrew Satterlee

  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)