The first Saturday of summer not only brought warm weather, but it provided an action-packed night of racing at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex in Markleysbug, PA. The RUSH Late Model Dirt Series highlighted the night that saw five other divisions in action, including the Super Late Models and the Al Cramer Memorial for E-Mods.

Mike Pegher, Jr., of Wexford, PA, led flag-to-flag to claim the RUSH Crate Late Model Touring Series’ first-ever visit to the speedway. Pegher won the night before at Hagerstown Speedway in Maryland, and his victory at the Knob made it two in a row, and three for the year, for the driver of the Geisler-owned No. 1 machine in the RUSH Series. (A complete and separate press release on this event can also be seen on this website, www.roaringknob.com).

Mason Zeigler used the high side to grab the lead from Ron Delano on lap four, and never looked back, as the Chalk Hill, PA driver claimed victory in the Super Late Model event. Zeigler, who qualified for the Dream at Eldora two weeks prior, led the final 21 laps to claim his second victory of the season at the Knob. Delano, of Stoystown, PA, fell into the clutches of Somerset, PA’s Scott Rhodes on lap nine. Rhodes began the race in fifth and moved his way toward the front with a good run to finish second. Delano started the race from the pole, but he settled for third.  Defending track champion Billy Holbert, of Fairmont, WV, marched his way from his seventh starting position to finish fourth. Keyser, WV’s Bob Gordon rounded out the top five. Zeigler and Delano won the heat races.

The special 18-lap Al Cramer Memorial for the E-Mods brought 19 entries, including drivers from Ohio. The event commemorated the life of the late Al Cramer, father of Nick and Josh Cramer, who compete regularly in the E-Mod division at Roaring Knob.

After winning the dash for cash, St. Clairsville, OH’s D.J. Cline began the feature from the pole. He shared the front row with Fairmont’s Jared Hawkins, who was driving for his brother, Jacob, who was injured at Eldora two weeks prior. Hawkins got the jump on Cline to lead the first lap. Cline worked the low groove several times on Hawkins, and at times pulled up alongside, but he was unsuccessful in his bid to recapture the lead.

Meanwhile, Zanesville, OH’s Tanner Wilson began his quick move to the front after starting in fifth. Wilson, who currently is the Rookie of the Year point leader in the Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour, moved by Cline on lap 10 and set his sights on Hawkins. Wilson, like Cline, worked the low side and moved by Hawkins for the lead on lap 14. He held onto the top spot for the final five circuits to collect his $1,838 payday. Hawkins finished second. Zanesville’s Jessie Wisecarver took third, and Fairmont’s Vic Vandergrift finished fifth.  Morgantown, WV’s Deana Groves crossed the stripe to finish fifth. Cline saw his bid for a good finish evaporate when he spun on the front stretch on lap 13. Wilson and Vandergrift won the heat races.

One of the night’s best races came in the Street Stock division. McClellandtown, PA’s Jim Byers and Farmington, PA’s Marty Spade battled for the lead throughout the entire 15-lap event.  Byers led the first six circuits, but he was being seriously challenged by Spade, each lap. Spade moved by Byers on lap seven to grab the top spot, and he held the lead for the next three laps.

The two battled nose-to-tail and side-by-side before Byers re-claimed the lead on lap 10. Byers held on to claim the win by a narrow margin at the line for his fifth of the season at the Knob. Spade, who is winless this season, finished second. Masontown, PA’s Mike Duritsky finished third and Fort Hill, PA’s Jason Gibbs claimed fourth. Greg Hauger, of Uniontown, PA, finished fifth in Bill Pluta’s car. Heat race winners were Masontown’s Michael Duritsky, Jr., and Byers.

Justin Howell claimed his career-first victory in the Charger event. The Smithfield, PA driver led in his No. 30 Nova flag-to-flag, and held off Charger division hot shoes J.T. Baird and Kyle Burkholder to win the 12-lap event.  Baird and Burkholder swapped the second spot, three times, before Uniontown’s Baird came home second. Burkholder, of Mill Run, PA, finished third. Confluence, PA’s Cody Colflesh and Eric Miller finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Burkholder won the heat race.

The Roadrunner division was the nightcap of a late, but exciting, night of action. Paul Koffler, Jr., of West Leisenring, PA, led the entire distance for his third win of the season on the three-eighths mile clay oval. West Leisenring’s Steve Settle began the race in ninth, and he had moved to second by lap seven. He was unable to make a move by Koffler, however, and finished second. Connellsville, PA’s David Friend took third. Somerset, PA’s Cindy Rhodes recovered from a mid-race flat tire to finish fourth. Hopwood, PA’s Todd Detrick finished fifth.

Saturday’s action at Roaring Knob will feature double-points racing for all six divisions. Additionally, fans will be treated to a spectacular fireworks display sponsored by Penn Summit Insurance Agency and Arsenberger Trucking. Pit Gates will open at 4:30 p.m., and spectator gates will open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:45.

Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Super Late Models: 1. Mason Zeigler, 2. Scott Rhodes, 3. Ron Delano, 4. Billy Holbert, 5. Bob Gordon, 6. Cody Hardesty, 7. Danny Mitchell, 8. Bob Hershman, 9. Mark Booth, 10. Dan Angelicchio, 11. John Britsky, 12. Darren Forest DNS: Matt Cosner

Sweeney RUSH Touring Series: (See separate press release on this website)

Krause Electric E-Mods: 1. Tanner Wilson, 2. Jared Hawkins, 3. Jessie Wisecarver, 4. Vic Vandergrift, 5. Deana Groves, 6. Brent Trimble, 7. Nick Cramer, 8. Denny Nakutis, 9. Bill Yohe, 10. Jim Pyles, 11. Larry Atha 12. Ronnie Howard, 13. Kurt Burge, 14. D J Cline, 15. Rich Curry,  16.Kevin Miller,  17.Josh Cramer, 18 Darren Tarabori (DNS)

Penn Summit Insurance Agency Street Stocks: 1. Jim Byers, 2. Marty Spade, 3. Mike Duritsky, 4. Jason Gibbs, 5. Greg Hauger, 6. Michael Duritsky, Jr., 7. Barry Farris, 8. Herb Karlinsey, 9. Bob Nelson, 10. Joe Kelly DNS: Scott Spade

Fort Necessity Garage Chargers: 1. Justin Howell, 2. J.T. Baird, 3. Kyle Burkholder, 4. Cody Colflesh, 5. Eric Miller, 6. Allen Fortney DNS. Charlie Bittinger

Newt’s York Bar Roadrunners: 1. Paul Koffler, Jr., 2. Steve Settle, 3. David Friend, 4. Cindy Rhodes, 5. Todd Detrick, 6. Steve Riggleman, 7. Ashley Britsky, 8. Andrew Dutkewycz 9. Dustin Detrick, 10. Ed Detrick

  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)