(Markleysburg, PA)-Domination-That’s the word to describe Cody Hardesty’s performance, Saturday, at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. Hardesty, of Oakland, MD, led flag-to-flag in his No. 53 Mastersbilt to capture the 25-lap Super Late Model event for his third victory of the season.

Hardesty began the race from the pole and quickly jumped to an early lead. The driver, who has become one of the premier Super Late Model drivers at the Markleysburg facility, enjoyed as much as a full straightaway lead during portions of the race. Elkins, WV’s Tim Senic ran in second for the entire event, but he was unable to mount a challenge on Hardesty. A caution period late in the event allowed Senic one last opportunity to mount a challenge on Hardesty. On the restart, Hardesty again quickly moved to a comfortable advantage. Hardesty wired the field en-route to his victory. Senic finished second. Hyndman, PA’s D.J. Troutman crossed the line third, and Stoystown, PA’s Ron Delano, Jr., finished fourth. Scott Rhodes, of Somerset, PA, rounded out the top five. Senic and Delano won the heat races.

The RUSH Crate Late Model event produced a popular winner as Acme, PA’s Troy Shields scored his first victory in nearly two years. Shields led the entire way, while Uniontown, PA’s Michael Lake and John Over battled for the second spot.  Over and Lake traded the runner-up spot throughout the event, but neither was able to mount a serious challenge to Shields. Lake finished second and Over took third. Keyser, WV’s Bob Gordon finished fourth in Tom Sieger’s machine. Stoystown’s Chad McClellan finished fifth. Over and Gordon won the heat races.

Deana Groves, of Morgantown, WV, grabbed the lead from Mike Reynolds on lap two and never looked back as she scored her third victory at the Knob in E-Mod competition. This was Groves’s sixth victory of the season throughout the region.  Reynolds, of Clements, MD, held on to finish second, and Latrobe, PA’s Nick Cramer took third. Weston, WV’s Robert Smith and West Mifflin, PA’s Bruce Dreistadt finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Cramer and Groves were the heat race winners.

Farmington, PA’s Scott Spade led the entire distance to claim his fourth Street Stock victory of the year. He held off Scott Bittinger, early, and then held off Jim Byers in the final laps to take the win. Byers, of McClellandtown, PA, moved by Bittinger with two laps remaining, but he could not mount a challenge on Spade. Byers settled for second and Bittinger, of Mount Lake Park, MD, took third. Farmington’s Marty Spade claimed fourth and Dunbar, PA’s Bob Nelson took the fifth spot. Scott Spade and Byers claimed the heat races.

J.T. Baird led the first eight laps of the Charger division, but Farmington’s John Redshaw was on the move. Redshaw started fifth and quickly moved his way through the field. He overtook Baird on lap nine and moved away to claim his third victory of the season. Baird crossed the line second but was disqualified after his car failed post-race inspection. This awarded second to Mill Run, PA’s Kyle Burkholder. Mill Run’s Ken Burkholder claimed third and Confluence, PA’s Cody Colflesh finished fourth. Ursina, PA’s C.J. Nicola rounded out the top five. Colflesh and Redshaw were the heat race winners.

The Roadrunner division proved to be one of the most exciting races of the evening. The race had three different leaders as Clarksburg, WV’s Steve Frazier, Ridgley, WV’s Ryan Peer and West Leisenring, PA’s Paul Koffler, Jr. traded the top spot. In turn four on the final lap, Koffler dove underneath Peer in a bid for the lead. Peer lost a wheel, and Koffler was able to get to the line first to claim victory. Peer’s car came to a stop on the front stretch shy of the finish line. Somerset’s Cindy Rhodes finished second, and Connellsville, PA’s David Friend claimed third. Hopwood, PA’s Todd Detrick finished fourth, and Dunbar, PA’s Ed Leonard rounded out the top five. Peer and Koffler claimed the heat races.

The Mechanics races were postponed due to heavy fog that engulfed the track late in the evening. All six divisions, including the rescheduled Mechanics races, will be held, Saturday, at Roaring Knob. Twin 15s for the Crate Late Models paying $700 each will be held to honor the late Sprout Cossell.  The Back to School Bike Races for the kids are also scheduled.  Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and main grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:45 p.m.

Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Super Late Models: 1. Cody Hardesty, 2. Tim Senic, 3. D.J. Troutman, 4. Ron Delano, Jr., 5. Scott Rhodes, 6. Dusty Hamrick, 7. Billy Holbert, 8. Garry Gellner, 9. Matt Cosner, 10. Bob Hershman, 11. Brandon Delano, 12. Bob Gordon, 13. L.C. Powers, 14. Mel Minnick, Jr., 15. Andy Spooner, 16. Mike Steck, 17. Jim Pyles, 18. Mark Booth, 19. Jason Gilliland

High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Crate Late Models: 1. Troy Shields, 2. Michael Lake, 3. John Over, 4. Bob Gordon, 5. Chad McClellan, 6. Russell Baird, Jr., 7. Ken Herman, 8. Mike Lewis, 9. Louie Krushansky, 10. Jeff Compton, 11. Dylan Lewis, 12. Greg Hauger, 13. C.J. Johnson, 14. Vince Masi, Jr., 15. Travis Wilson

Krause Electric E-Mods: 1. Deana Groves, 2. Mike Reynolds, 3. Nick Cramer, 4. Robert Smith, 5. Bruce Dreistadt, 6. Denny Nakutis, 7. Larry Atha, 8. Justin Milburn, 9. Bill Yohe, 10. Jim Pyles, 11. Ron Howard, 12. Nick Wilson, 13. Brent Trimble

Penn Summit Insurance Agency Street Stocks: 1. Scott Spade, 2. Jim Byers, 3. Scott Bittinger, 4. Marty Spade, 5. Bob Nelson, 6. Michael Duritsky, Jr., 7. Mike Duritsky, 8. Jason Gibbs, 9. Kevin Collins, 10. Steve Settle, 11. Ryan Newman, 12. Shane Sanders, 13. John Fama, 14. Herb Karlinsey, 15. Ricky Vest

Fort Necessity Garage Chargers: 1. John Redshaw, 2. Kyle Burkholder, 3. Ken Burkholder, 4. Cody Colflesh, 5. C.J. Nicola, 6. Justin Howell, 7. Charlie Bittinger, 8. Brad Jenkins, 9. Eric Miller, 10. Brad Nesline, 11. Willie Ling, 12. Allen Fortney, 13. Todd Weldon, 14. Bobby Siegel DQ: J.T. Baird

Newt’s York Bar 4-Cylinder Roadrunners: 1. Paul Koffler, Jr., 2. Cindy Rhodes, 3. David Friend, 4. Todd Detrick, 5. Ed Leonard, 6. Dustin Detrick, 7. Ed Detrick, 8. Ryan Peer, 9. Steve Frazier, 10. Neil Bauer, Jr., 11. Steve Riggleman

  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)