(Markleysburg, Pennsylvania)-Tim Senic has become a member of racing’s Royal Family. He has been crowned King of the Knob.

Senic, of Elkins, West Virginia, led every lap to win the 16th-annual King of the Knob sanctioned by the Three State Flyers, Saturday, at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. Senic, the 2009 Roaring Knob track champion, battled with Kenny Pettyjohn, and later Jamie Lathroum, before claiming his first Three State Flyers victory and banking $5,000 for his efforts.

Senic won his heat race, earlier in the evening, and the pill invert placed him second on the starting grid alongside Fairmont, West Virginia’s Jared Hawkins for the 55-lap main event. Senic got the early jump on Hawkins as the green flag fell, and he quickly moved to the lead. Seaford, Delaware’s Austin Hubbard, who started fourth, quickly advanced through the field to grab second. On lap 6, Hawkins and Hubbard spun in turn four, bringing out the caution and forcing the two to restart at the rear of the field.

Millsboro, Delaware’s Kenny Pettyjohn, the 2013 Hagerstown Speedway champion, began to flex his muscle on the restart as he challenged Senic for the lead. For the next 34 circuits, Pettyjohn looked inside and outside of Senic as he made a bid for the lead. Senic kept Pettyjohn at bay until lap 40 when Pettyjohn moved underneath Senic to grab the apparent lead. Somerset, Pennsylvania’s Scott Rhodes slowed on the track forcing a caution period, and this allowed Senic to move back in front of Pettyjohn as the pass for the lead had not been made official at the start/finish line.

Jamie Lathroum, of Mechanicsville, Maryland, then began to make his presence known at the front of the field. Fresh off a fine second-place finish during the NDRL event, Monday, at the Knob, Lathroum worked the high line to advance from his sixth-place starting position. Lathroum worked the high line for the majority of the event, and he passed Pettyjohn for second on lap 46. He continued to drive the high line, but it was not enough as Senic roared to the stripe first to claim the victory.

“I want to thank Kenny and Jamie for running me clean,” said Senic in Victory Lane, as he stood beside his No. S2 Roys RV Rocket Chassis. “The caution coming out when it did was fortunate for me, especially with the run Kenny had. After breaking Monday (NDRL event), it is good to rebound and get a victory here. I can’t thank my crew enough,” he added. Senic is the current Roaring Knob points leader, and this marked his third victory of the season at the Markleysburg facility. He is also the 2013 Elkins Speedway champion.

Lathroum finished second, and Flyers points leader, Mark Pettyjohn, of Milton, Delaware, also proved to be a driver on a mission. After starting 13th, Mark Pettyjohn cracked the top 10 by lap six, and he ventured into the top five by lap 21. He moved by Greensburg, PA’s Davey Johnson for fourth on lap 48 and set his sights on his brother, Kenny Pettyjohn. On the final circuit, Mark Pettyjohn moved by his brother to finish third. Kenny Pettyjohn settled for fourth. Carlisle, Pennsylvania’s Jeremy Miller moved from his ninth-starting spot to finish a strong fifth. Southpark, Pennsylvania’s Keith Barbara claimed sixth, and Hubbard rebounded nicely after his early-race spin to finish a respectable seventh. Sarver, Pennsylvania’s Johnny Garvin finished eighth and three-time Flyers champion, Jason Covert, of York Haven, Pennsylvania, finished ninth. Bristol, West Virginia’s Mike Benedum rounded out the top 10.

Johnson, Hubbard, Senic and Hawkins won the four heat races among the 34 entrants. Beverly, West Virginia’s Chuck Harper won the B-Main. Miller set fast time in qualifying with a 15.709 seconds lap around the three-eighths mile clay oval.

Stoystown, Pennsylvania’s Chad McClellan led the entire distance in the RUSH Late Model event to claim his fifth win of the season at the Knob. Oakland, Maryland’s Mike Lewis finished second followed by Uniontown, Pennsylvania’s Michael Lake in third. Points leader Troy Shields, of Acme, Pennsylvania, claimed fourth, and Greensburg’s Jeremy Zufall rounded out the top five. Lewis and McClellan won the heat races.

Cousins Scott and Marty Spade, of Farmington, Pennsylvania, battled in the Street Stock event before Scott Spade claimed his fifth win of the season. Marty Spade led the first four circuits, but Scott Spade got by him on the fifth lap. Scott Spade led the final 10 laps to win the final feature of the evening. Points leader Jim Byers, of McClellandtown, Pennsylvania, finished second, and Dunbar, Pennsylvania’s Bob Nelson finished third. Marty Spade fell back to finish fourth and Fort Hill, Pennsylvania’s Jason Gibbs claimed fifth.  Scott and Marty Spade won the heat races.

Racing returns to Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex, Saturday, with all six regular divisions in action. The Super Late Models, RUSH Late Models, E-Mods, Street Stocks, Chargers and Roadrunners will be on hand, and the night will also feature Powder Puff racing. Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and spectator gates open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:45 p.m. More information can be obtained at

Three State Flyers Super Late Models King of the Knob sponsored by TC Race Cars: 1. Tim Senic, 2. Jamie Lathroum, 3. Mark Pettyjohn, 4. Kenny Pettyjohn, 5. Jeremy Miller, 6. Keith Barbara, 7. Austin Hubbard, 8. Johnny Garvin, 9. Jason Covert, 10. Mike Benedum, 11. Jared Hawkins, 12. Jerry Bard, 13. Bob Hershman, 14. Chuck Harper, 15. Shawn Claar, 16. Bob Gordon, 17. Dan Angelicchio, 18. Davey Johnson, 19. Ron Delano, Jr., 20. Quintin Wyandt, 21. Scott Rhodes, 22. Mike Lupfer, 23. D.J. Troutman, 24. Matt Cosner

Heat race No. 1 (Top 5 transferred) 1. Davey Johnson, 2. Jason Covert, 3. Jeremy Miller, 4. Mark Pettyjohn, 5. Scott Rhodes, 6. Shawn Claar, 7. Matt Cosner, 8. Chris Rhodes DNS: Cody Hardesty

Heat race No. 2 (Top 5 transferred) 1. Austin Hubbard, 2. Keith Barbara, 3. Dan Angelicchio, 4. Jerry Bard, 5. Quintin Wyandt, 6. Chuck Harper, 7. Mel Minnick, Jr., 8. Joe Zulisky DNS: Andy Spooner

Heat race No. 3 (Top 5 transferred) 1. Tim Senic, 2. Kenny Pettyjohn, 3. D.J. Troutman, 4. Ron Delano, Jr., 5. Mike Benedum, 6. Bob Hershman, 7. Ryan Christoff, 8. Danny Pugh

Heat race No. 4 (Top 5 transferred) 1. Jared Hawkins, 2. Jamie Lathroum, 3. Johnny Garvin, 4. Bob Gordon, 5. Mike Lupfer, 6. Greg Gellner, 7. Dan Lee, 8. Jim Struble

B-Main (Top 2 transferred) 1. Chuck Harper, 2. Shawn Claar, 3. Bob Hershman, 4. Matt Cosner, 5. Mel Minnick, Jr., 6. Greg Gellner, 7. Ryan Christoff, 8. Danny  Pugh, 9. Dan Lee, 10. Jim Struble, 11. Joe Zulisky, 12. Chris Rhodes

High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models: 1. Chad McClellan, 2. Mike Lewis, 3. Michael Lake, 4. Troy Shields, 5. Jeremy Zufall, 6. Jeremy Shaffer, 7. Rick Singleton, 8. Joey Jenkins, 9. Jennae Piper, 10. Corey Metheny, 11. Ken Herman, 12. Russell Baird, Jr., 13. Brian Rankin, 14. Cody Rogers, 15. Louie Krushansky, 16. Eddie Starkey, 17. Dylan Lewis

Penn Summit Insurance Agency Street Stocks: 1. Scott Spade, 2. Jim Byers, 3. Bob Nelson, 4. Marty Spade, 5. Jason Gibbs, 6. Bob Neratka, 7.  Barry Farris, 8. Scott Bittinger, 9. Steve Settle, 10. Herb Karlinsey, 11. Eric Miller DNS: Greg Hauger





  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)