Local Fans Thrilled with Roaring Knob Motorsports Spring Kick Off


For Immediate Release:


Markleysburg, PA (April 6, 2014):
 Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex kicked off their 2014 season Saturday night when most promoters would have held off the night because of cold weather.  Promoter and track owner Rick Jones says “No let’s run”. Feature winners included Mike Benedum (NAPA Auto Parts Super Late Models), Dan Angelicchio (High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models), Todd Dennis (Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Street Stocks), J T Baird (Fort Necessity Garage Chargers), Brent Trimble (Krause Electric Emods), and Ryan Peer (Newt’s York Bar 4 Cyl Roadrunners).


 High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models Greensburg, PA resident Dan Angelicchio was the winner. Dan Angelicchio started on the pole and led every lap holding off the #K2 of John Over and the #12 of Ryan Montgomery. Hard luck needs to go out to the driver of the #119, Chad McClelland, who showed a lot of speed but was forced to the pits for a mechanical issue. "The track was awesome, I could have put the car anywhere I wanted," Angelicchio said.  


In the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Street Stocks, Todd Dennis started on the outside pole position and was able to take the lead going into turn one around the #89 of Jason Gibbs. With Dennis in the lead, the battle for the second, third and fourth position was contested among Gibbs, Greg Hauger and Joe Kelly. 2013 champion Jim Byers started in the 10th position and showed the fans how to get around the 3/8th mile oval when he passed Hauger and Gibbs for third place.


Leading the first 5 laps, the driver of the #2, Shane Hitt, was hoping for a non- stop 25 lap feature but the caution flew for debris on lap 5 bunching up the field.  Mike Benedum was quickly moving forward from his 5th place starting position taking the lead on lap 6. Benedum made his move, powering around Hitt in turn two to take a lead he would never give up. Benedum continued to lead lap after lap, while behind him a fierce battle had developed between Hitt and Jacob Hawkins. Tim Senic all of a sudden appeared to take 3rd away from Hawkins on lap 22.


J T Baird was victorious in the 12 lap Fort Necessity Garage Chargers feature. After starting 6th, Baird took the lead going into turn one on the first lap. Baird was able to lead the rest of the way for his first victory of the 2014 season. C J Nicola and Eric Miller battled for the runner-up spot.


Newt's York Bar Roadrunner Front Wheel Drive 4 cylinder driver Ryan Peer jumped out to the early lead and never looked back. If Peer was able to look over his shoulder, he would have seen Cody Quarrick, and David Friend waging an intense battle for second.


Brent Trimble demonstrated his domination of the Krause Electric & Refrigeration Mods once again. Trimble powered by Mike Reynolds and Tom Sigler half way through the 15 lap feature race for the lead, and he led Reynolds to the checkers. Tom Sigler topped Nick Cramer for third. Del Cunningham was fifth this night.


Roaring Knob Motorsport Complex will return to action next Saturday, April 12, with the NAPA Super Late Models - High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models –Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic  Street Stocks - Fort Necessity Garage Chargers - Krause Electric Emods - Newt's York Bar Roadrunner fwd 4-cyls.  Weekly Racing Pit Gates open at 4:30 - Grandstand Gates Open at 5:00 Hot Laps 6:45 - Racing 7:15 pm Race day Phone:  724-329-0306


About Roaring Knob Motorsport Complex is a 3/8-mile dirt track located 380 Fearer Rd. Markleysburg PA 15459 just west of the Yough Lake and only miles from the Nemacolin Woodland Resort and Casino. Our central location not only brings local fans but also many from West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, and Ohio, giving you a very broad audience. Dirt track racing and quality family entertainment are presented weekly from late April through late October. For more information, check out, or



High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models:  Dan Angelicchio, John Over, Ryan Montgomery, Tyler Hershey, George Kowatic, Russell Baird, Jr., Michael Lake, Joe Krcelich, Troy Shields, Ralph Morgan, Dylan Lewis, Noland Dalton, Garrett Paugh, Henry Hornsby, Clinton Hersh, Bryan Rankin, Chad McClellan, Nico Dabecco, Vincent Masi, Jr. Mark Wells       Heat Winners: Joe Krcelich, George Kowatic, Ryan Montgomery


Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Street Stocks: Todd Dennis, Bob Neratka, Jim Byers, James Hauger, Jason Gibbs, Joe Kelley, Scott Bittinger, Cody Colflesh, Barry Faris, Joe Wrona, Bob Nelson     Heat Winners: Todd Dennis, Jason Gibbs


Napa Auto Parts Super Late Models:   Mike Benedum, Shane Hitt, Tim Senic, Jacob Hawkins,  Brandon Delano, Cody Hardesty, Scott Rhodes , Skip Hare, Bob Gordon, Quintin Wyandt, L C Powers, DNS:  Gary Dalton       Heat Winners: Tim Senic, Mike Benedum


Fort Necessity Garage Chargers: J T Baird, Christopher Nicola, Eric Miller, Amber Mills, Justin Howell, Dan Chesney      Heat Winner: J T Baird 


Newt's York Bar Roadrunner Front Wheel Drive 4 cylinder : Ryan Peer, Cody Quarrick, David Friend, Josh Datko, Steve Riggleman     Heat Winner: Ryan Peer 


 Krause Electric & Refrigeration Mods: Brent Trimble’ Mike Reynolds , Thomas Sigler, Nick Cramer, Del Cunningham, Greg Beach, Josh Cramer    Heat Winner: Brent Trimble



  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)