April 12, 2014 (Markleysburg, PA)

New Winners at Roaring Knob in Second Week of Racing


 The second week of racing at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex produced new winners in each division.  Victorious on Saturday night were L C Powers (Napa Auto Parts Super Late Models), Michael Lake (High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models), Scott Bittinger (Hoosier Tire Street Stocks), Kyle Burkholder (Fort Necessity Garage Chargers), Cody Quarrick (Newt’s York Bar 4 Cylinder Roadrunners), and Vic Vandergrift (Krause Electric Emods).


Mel Minnick and Shane Hitt brought the Super Late Models to the green flag.  Minnick led the first few laps until 4th place starter L C Powers took charge of the race.  Powers held of Tim Senic and Cody Hardesty who both gave late race charges.  Minnick settled for fourth while Quintin Wyandt came home fifth.  Heat winners were Scott Rhodes and Jared Hawkins. 


Michael Lake started from the pole and won his first of the year in the RUSH late models after winning five features last year.  It wasn’t an easy race for the Albert Gallatin middle-school student as Jared Hawkins driving the Jerry Haseleu/Rick Strickler owned RJ1 and John Over were waiting for the youngster to make a mistake.  That didn’t happen!  Hawkins and Over were second and third while Troy Shields and Chad McClelland rounded out the top five.  Heat races went to Hawkins and McClelland. 


Scott Bittinger won his first Street Stock feature at Roaring Knob after starting in the fourth spot.  Joe Kelley hounded Bittinger throughout the 15 laps but had to settle for second.  Scott Spade, Bob Nelson and Jim Byers finished in the top five.  Heat races were taken by Bittinger and Nelson.


2013 Charger champion, Kyle Burkholder, brought out his #27 for the first time this year and went straight to victory lane in both the heat and feature events.  He held off last week’s winner, J T Baird, who settled for second.  Third through fifth were C J Nicola, Justin Howell, and Eric Miller. 


Cody Quarrick was the class of the field in the 4 cylinder Roadrunners as he bested Casey Fleegle, Ed Detrick, Ryan Perr, and Steve Riggleman.  Andrew Pluta was the heat winner. 


In the Emod feature event, Vic Vandergrift started 4th but quickly went to the front of the field.  He won ahead of Nick Cramer, Jason Fosnaught, Greg Beach, and Matt Chenoweth.  Cramer was the heat winner. 


Racing continues this Saturday night, April 19, with a topless Mod Lite Special.  This will be the first appearance in 2014 of the Mod Lites.  Also racing will be Super Late Models, RUSH Late Models, Street Stocks, and Chargers.  4 cylinder Roadrunners (will be racing at Hagerstown) and Emods have the night off.    Next week, April 26, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will visit Roaring Knob for their only visit of 2014.  RUSH Late Models and Street Stocks will also be racing.   Saturday night racing finds pit gates opening at 4:30 and General Admission gates at 5:00.  Hot laps begin at 6:45 with heats and features following.  Visit our website at for more information. 


Napa Auto Parts Super Late Models:  L C Powers, Tim Senic, Cody Hardesty, Mel Minnick, Quintin Wyandt, Brandon Delano, Shane Hitt, Scott Rhodes, Ryan Christoff, Josh Jacoby, Blandon Carter, Mark Booth, Bob Gordon, Jared Hawkins, Shaun Poling    DNS – Gary Dalton


High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Late Models:  Michael Lake, Jared Hawkins, John Over, Troy Shields, Chad McCLelland, George Kowatic, Nolan Dalton, Ken Herman, Garrett Paugh, Russel Baird, Henry Hornsby, Dylan Lewis, Clinton Hersh, Joey Jenkins, Mark Wells, Vince Masi,  DNS -  Bryan Rankin


Hoosier Tire Street Stocks:  Scott Bittinger, Joe Kelley, Scott Spade, Bob Nelson, Jim Byers, Todd Dennis, Cody Colflesh, Micahel Duritsky, Bob Neratka, Jason Gibbs,   DNS – Barry Faris, Greg Hauger


Fort Necessity Garage Chargers:  Kyle Burkholder, J T Baird, C J Nicola, Justin Howell, Eric Miller


Newt’s York Bar 4 cylinder Roadrunners:  Cody Quarrick, Casey Fleegle, Ed Detrick, Ryan Peer, Steve Riggleman, David Friend,  Andrew Pluta


Krause Electric Emods: Vic Vandergrift, Nick Cramer, Jason Fosnaught, Greg Beach, Matthew Chenoweth, Robert Smith, Josh Cramer


  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)