May 06 2014 - Showers Early Led To Fast Track at Roaring Knob

Markleysburg, PA  May 3, 2014

After two light periods of rain, then a hard shower, Roaring Knob was a little late getting started on Saturday night, but the fast track and exciting action was worth the wait.  Feature winners included Billy Holbert, Michael Lake, Scott Bittinger, Ronnie Howard, Cody Colflesh, David Friend, and Matt Wallace. 

Brandon Delano looked as if he would pick up his first feature super late model win as he led most of the 25 lap feature.  However, Billy Holbert made a late race pass after starting in the fifth spot and held Delano off at the checkered flag.  The two drivers traded the lead several times before the checkered flag dropped.Tim Senic started 10th and worked his way through the field but ran out of time and settled for the third spot.  Scott Rhodes and Quintin Wyandt rounded out the top five.  Heats went to Colton Flinner and Michael Lake.

The twenty-car field of RUSH late models put on a great show for the fans.  Young Michael Lake came from the fourth starting spot to take the lead after a fierce battle with his Bobby Lake Motorsports teammate, George Kowatic.  The two drivers put on quite a show as they made lap after lap side by side. This was Lake's second victory of the 2014 season. Rick Strickler was waiting for a mistake between the teammates but had to settle for a third place finish.  Robbie Marhefka and Chad McClelland were fourth and fifth.  Heats went to McClelland, Corey Matheny and Kowatic. 

Scott Bittinger won his third straight Street Stock feature even though he is relegated to start 7th after winning the previous week.   Greg Hauger fought hard for the top spot but could not hold off Bittinger.  Marty Spade, out for his first time in 2014 finished third followed by Cody Colflesh and Michael Duritsky.  Heat winners were Bob Nelson and Bittinger. 

Saturday night, the Charger field was lacking in numbers but not in excitement as a great battle between Cody Colflesh, CJ Nicola, John Redshaw, and JT Baird brewed for the top spot.  Eric Miller came home fifth.  The lone heat went to Baird. 

The 4 cylinder Roadrunner field grew to 9 cars on Saturday night with David Friend picking up his first win of 2014.  Ryan Peer and Steve McMahon were second and third.  Peer was the heat winner. 

It was the first visit of the year for the Classic Cars as they put on an exhibition race of 25 laps.  Matt Wallace of Mt Airy, Md was the winner followed by Roland Brown of Manchester, Md  and Steve Clemo of Baltimore, MD.    Other drivers entered were Vincent Crocker, Dorsey Weaver, Neal Reamer, Ron Grove, and Steve Cantwell. 

There will be an OPEN PRACTICE session on Thursday night, May 8, from 7 9 pm.  On Saturday, May 10, join us for racing action with Super Late Models, RUSH Late Models, Street Stocks, Chargers, 4 Cylinder Roadrunners and Mod Lites.  The OLDTIMERS club will also join us at the Knob this week.  Pit gates open at 4:30 while General Admission Gates open at 5.  Hot laps will begin at 6:45.   For more information check out our website at   

SUMMARY  5/3/14

Napa Auto Parts Super Late Models BILLY HOLBERT, Brandon Delano, Tim Senic, Scott Rhodes, Quintin Wyandt, DJ Troutman, Shawn Claar, Gary Dalton, Colton Flinner, Shane Hitt, LC Powers, Bob Gordon, Duane Stiner, Joe Krcelich, Cody Hardesty, Jeremy Hill. Michael Lake, DNS Gary Gellner    HEATS Colton Flinner and Michael Lake

High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Crate Late Models MICHAEL LAKE, George Kowatic, Rick Strickler, Robbie Marhefka, Chad McClelland, Corey Matheny, Nico Dabecco, Troy Shields, Russell Baird, Jennae Piper, Nolan Dalton, Bill Pluta, Joey Jenkins, Garrett Paugh, Bryan Rankin, Clinton Hersh, Mark Wells, Vince Masi, Kevin Palmer, DNS Kyle Lukon   HEATS Chad McClelland, Corey Matheny George Kowatic

Hoosier Tire Street Stocks SCOTT BITTINGER, Greg Hauger, Marty Spade, Cody Colflesh, Michael Duritsky, Barry Faris, Bob Nelson, Joey Wrona, Jason Gibbs, Tom Newman, Allen Fortney   HEATS Bob Nelson, and Scott Bittinger

Fort Necessity Garage Chargers CODY COLFLESH, CJ Nicola, John Redshaw, JT Baird, Eric Miller, Dan Jackson, Justin Howell  HEAT JT Baird

Krause Electric EMods RONNIE HOWARD, Jason Fosnaught, Nick Cramer, Greg Beech, Josh Cramer   HEAT Nick Cramer

Newt’s York Bar 4 cylinder Roadrunners DAVID FRIEND, Ryan Peer, Steve McMahon, Todd Detrick, Josh Ringer, Ed Detrick, Bobby Wellman, Robert Fox, Dustin Nutter  HEAT Ryan Peer

MATT WALLACE of Mt Airy, MD won the Classic Racing Series Roland Brown 2nd and Steve Clemo scored his career best finish in the 3rd spot.

  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)