Markleysburg PA  (May 30)

      The three-day weekend started off with a great field of 42 cars for the Appalachian Mountain Speedweek race at Roaring Knob.  Tim McCreadie of Watertown NY, Rick Singleton of Front Royal, VA, and Greg Hauger of Uniontown, PA all went to Victory Lane on Friday night. 

The RUSH Crate Late Models started the evening off with a great race!  Young Michael Lake took advantage of his outside pole starting position to take the early lead.  Lake appeared to be running away with the race but 5th starter, Rick Singleton was running the high-side and picking off competitors one-by-one.  He followed Lake for the last few laps until the “two laps to go” signal was given.  Singleton decided it was time to go and he passed Lake as they approached lapped traffic.  Leading only the last two laps, Singleton went on to win his second of the year at the Knob.   Lake was second followed by Bob Gordon in Tom Seiger’s #99, Ken Herman, and Dylan Lewis.  Heats went to John Over and Singleton. 

Jared Hawkins started on the outside front row of the Super Late Model 40 lapper.  He pulled away from the field for the first 10 laps.  Then as Hawkins seemed to have the race in hand, smoke started pouring from the back of his #37.  He still led for a few more laps but his night ended when smoke engulfed the car.  Tim McCreadie who had started in the eighth spot had been running the high-side picking off one competitor after another.  He finally took advantage of Hawkins’ bad luck to take the lead.  McCreadie left the field behind as he picked up the Appalachian Mountain Speedweek’s first race this year.  Seventh starter, Tim Fuller drove his way to second place, while Austin Hubbard who started 9th came home third.  Vic Coffey started 12th and brought his car to a fourth place finish ahead of Mike Lupfer who had drawn the pole position.  Hard-charger of the evening was Dan Stone in the #21D as he moved from 20th to finish seventh.  Four heats were contested and won by Frank Heckenast, Jr. Fuller, Tim Senic, and McCreadie.  B- Mains were won by Jerry Bard and Mason Zeigler.  Mike Benedum set fast time with a 15.887.

The Hoosier Tire Street Stocks found Greg Hauger leading all 15 laps of the main event.  After a mid-race caution, Hauger had no competition for the win.  Michael Duritsky had his best finish of second followed by Scott Spade, Bob Nelson and Jim Byers.  Heat winners were Hauger and Scott Bittinger.

SUMMARY 5-30-14

High Gear Speed Shop RUSH Crate Late Models – RICK SINGLETON, Michael Lake, Bob Gordon, Ken Herman, Dylan Lewis, Ralph Morgan Jr., John Over, Bill Pluta, Jr. John Imler, Russell Baird, Troy Shields, William Stile, Clinton Hersh, Bryan Rankin, and Rick Strickler


HEAT #1  Frank Heckenast, Jr, DJ Troutman, Austin Hubbard, Gregg Satterlee, Scott Rhodes, Jerry Bard, Billy Holbert, Quintin Wyandt, Mike Benedum, Rance Garlock, and Joe Krcelich

HEAT #2  Tim Fuller, Jared Hawkins, Kyle Bransen, Matt Cosner, DJ Myers, Bob Gordon, Ron DeHaven, Chuck Clise, LC Powers, Brandon Delano,    DNS – Rick Eckert

HEAT #3  Tim Senic, Jason Covert, Justin Kann, Keith Barbara, Mike Altobelli, Mason Zeigler, Dylan Yoder, Kenny Pettyjohn, Cody Hardesty, Matt Cochran, Jamie Lathroum

HEAT #4  Tim McCreadie, Mike Lupfer, Vic Coffey, Nick Dickson, Dan Stone, Kerry King Shane Hitt, Michael Lake, Mel Minnick, Jason Miller

BMAIN #1 – Jerry Bard, Billy Holbert, Quintin Wyandt, Bob Gordon, Mike Benedum, Rance Garlock, Chuck Clise, LC Powers, DNS – Ron DeHaven, Brandon Delano, Joe Krcelich

B MAIN #2 – Mason Zeigler, Kenny Pettyjohn, Kerry King, Jamie Lathroum, Cody Hardesty, Matt Cochran, Mel Minnick, Jason Miller, Michael Lake, Dylan Yoder, Shane Hitt

FEATURE EVENT --TIM MCCREADIE, Tim Fuller, Austin Hubbard, Vic Coffey, Mike Lupfer, Jason Covert, Dan Stone, Frank Heckenast Jr, Mike Altobelli, Kyle Branson, Tim Senic, Mason Zeigler, Keith Barbara, DJ Troutman, Jerry Bard, Nick Dickson, Kenny Pettyjohn, Scott Rhodes, Mike Benedum, Gregg Satterlee, DJ Myers, Justin Kann, Matt Cosner, Billy Holbert, Jared Hawkins

    DNQ – Kerry King, Dylan Yoder, Shane Hitt, Michael Lake, Cody Hardesty, Mel Minnick, Matt Cochran, Jason Miller, Jamie Lathroum, Bob Gordon, Ronnie DeHaven, Quintin Wyandt, Chuck Clise, LC Powers, Rance Garlock, Brandon Delano, and Joe Krcelick

Hoosier Tire Street Stocks – GREG HAUGER, Michael Duritsky, Scott Spade, Bob Nelson, Jim Byers, Scott Bittinger, Marty Spade, Jason Gibbs, Barry Faris, Herb Karlinsey, Cody Colflesh, Allen Fortney and Kevin Collins.

  Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, weather forecast  

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'rrngknob'@'localhost' (using password: NO)